Babita Phogat, Yogeshwar Dutt Among 78 Candidates to Fight Haryana Polls on BJP Ticket, Khattar Gets Karnal Again

New Delhi: Olympic medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, woman wrestler Babita Phogat and former Indian hockey captain Sandeep Singh were among 78 candidates named by BJP for Haryana assembly elections to be held across on October 21.
While Dutt will contest from Baroda, Phogat will fight polls from Dadri and Singh from Pehowa. In the same list, Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar has been picked to fight elections from Karnal once again. Khattar had won from Karnal seat in 2014.

Haryana BJP president Subhash Barala will contest from Tohana, Captain Abhimanyu from Narnod and Om Prakash Dhankar from Badli, Singh said. Former Union minister and Jat leader Birender Singh’s MLA wife will contest from Uchana Kalan, a seat she had won in 2014. The candidates include nine women and two Muslims.
BJP national general secretary Arun Singh said the party’s central election committee has repeated 38 MLAs and dropped seven of them for the polls to the 90-member assembly.
The announcement comes a day after BJP held the Central Election Committee meeting to finalise its candidates for the assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *